SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)

Anyone who wants to achieve organization-wide success needs well-trained Scrum Masters. Improve the performances of your team with the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) training for experienced Scrum Masters.
Download Brochure
Success Rate
Participant Score

Not sure if this course suits you?

Our training advisor Isabelle Berkhout would love to help you further.

The training

A professional Scrum Master has the ability to look beyond their own team. The two-day SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) training prepares experienced Scrum Masters for next level leadership that will facilitate company wide success. The training focuses on:

  • Facilitating cross-team interaction to promote SAFe support and continuous improvement

  • Increase knowledge of Scrum Paradigm

  • Introduction to scalable engineering and DevOps

  • Apply Kanban eXtreme Programming (XP) frameworks to optimize flow and improve team performance

  • Interacting with different stakeholders

  • Dealing with Agile & Scrum anti-patterns

Liked the flexibility of the trainer, based on experience we could select topics that needed attention.
We are an authorized Scaled Agile Gold SPCT Partner which is the highest available partner rank.

Our SAFe Advanced Scrum Master courses are taught by one or two SPCs (SAFe Program Consultants) or even SPCTs (SAFe Program Consultant Trainers). These inspiring trainers are consultants who are active in the field and have extensive SAFe experience in training and implementing SAFe at large organizations

Who is it for?

The SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) course is ideal for practicing Scrum Masters who want to enhance their knowledge and skills. Course participants usually include team leaders, project managers (and other Agile facilitators within a SAFe environment), Engineering and Development Managers, Agile coaches and program managers and future Release Train Engineers.


SASM exam & certificate

The SAFe Advanced Scrum (SASM) training is a two-day course (9 a.m. - 5 p.m., including lunch) and is given by one or more SPCs (SAFe Practice Consultants) or SPCTs (SAFe Practice Consultant Trainers). Our consultants are not merely teachers, but active in the field as well: thatโ€™s why they have plenty of experience in implementing SAFe within organizations.

Did you complete the training and pass the exam? Youโ€™re now a certified SAFe Scrum Master! You will receive:

  • Official SAFeยฎ Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) certificate

  • Digital badge of the certificate (to share & promote online)

  • One-year certified membership as a SAFe Advanced Scrum Master, granting access to the SASM Community of Practice

  • Access to a variety of learning resources to support certified professionals during the SAFe journey

The Scaled Agile Academy will update your profile as soon as you pass the exam. From then on, you will have access to the private, online community and the possibility to make your profile public within the Scaled Agile community. Until that moment, only you have the privilege to see your certification.

Exam details

  • Exam name: SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)
  • Language: English
  • Format: Multiple choice & multiple select
  • Exam delivery: Web-based (single-browser), closed book
  • Duration: 120 minutes
  • Number of questions: 60 questions
  • Passing score: 42 out of 60 questions correct (70% score)
  • Exam cost: The cost of the official exam is included and must be completed within 30 days of training.
  • Retake policy: Didn't pass the exam? Nothing to worry about. You can go directly for a second attempt. A third attempt can be done after a 10-day waiting period. The fourth attempt can be made after a 30-day waiting period. Questions about the retake policy? Contact

Thinking about taking a SAFe Advanced Scrum Master class at Gladwell Academy? View the digital brochure. We'll send the link directly to your inbox!


Do you want to join the SAFe Advanced Scrum Master training? Everyone is welcome! Would you also like to participate in the exam? Then we recommend that you have one of the following certifications:

  • SAFeยฎ Scrum Master (SSM) certificate

  • Certified Scrum Master (CSM) certificate

  • Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certificate

Professional Development Units (PDUs) and Scrum Education Units (SEUs)

Attending this course means that you may be eligible to apply for 15 Continuing Education โ€“ Strategic PDUs toward your continuing education requirements with the Project Management Institute (PMI) for PMP and PMI-ACP certifications. You may also be eligible to apply for SEUs under category C, toward earning or renewing your CSP through Scrum Alliance.


Upcoming SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) Courses

Filter 1 result
Learning Style
Nov 12

SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) - Virtual

Virtual training - each day 09:00 - 17:00 CET
Virtual Course EU
Virtual training - each day 09:00 - 17:00 CET
  • Virtual Course EU
  • English
Show more